You have built a building.  Now we will build a church.

Reverend Pat Zaccara, November 23, 1978 Dedication Service

A Chapel was originally proposed by Lloyd Ecclestone, Sr. in 1972 when he offered a 7 acre parcel of land at the present site.  The Ecclestone Family graciously donated the land for a village chapel.  In December 1976, a Board of Trustees was formed, officers elected and construction of the original building was initiated.  Sunday services began at the Pelican House in January 1977.  The cornerstone was laid on March 20, 1978 and the first worship service in the new building was conducted on November 23, 1978.

The organization, financing, and construction of the Chapel are an accomplishment that a few persons thought might never happen. At the outset, there had been some determined opposition to building a Chapel. Happily, these fears did not prevail as Building Fund Contributions came from some sixteen religious denominations represented by Village residents. This spirit of generosity continues as a recent campaign to raise funds for Capital Improvements received gifts from all denominations.

Past Board of Trustees had the vision that the Chapel would be the Spiritual and Cultural Center of Lost Tree Village and created a caring and welcoming environment for Village residents and their families. Under their leadership, a Lending Library, the Village Forum, Tea and Talks, Arts Committee, the Stephen Ministry and the Lost Tree Chapel Foundation were established. The Lost Tree Chapel Foundation gave rise to a broader need for support from residents and separated from the Chapel in 1983 to become the Lost Tree Village Charitable Foundation. The Chapel retains  its charitable mission through Benevolence appeals and focuses its grants on faith-based charities and social agencies.

Lost Tree Chapel endures and it will be a haven for worship and a source for enlightenment and growth. As the heart of the community, the Chapel makes Lost Tree Village a better place to live.

Former Pastors

Dr. Richard Thompson — 2015 -2020

Dr. Ken Mahanes — 2007 – 2015

Dr. Michael Wenning — 2001 – 2007

Rev. David Scoates — 1999 – 2000

Dr. Herman Ridder — 1994 – 1999

Dr. Paul Kindschi — 1990 – 1993

Dr. John McCombe — 1983 – 1990

Dr. Pat Zaccara — 1978 – 1983

Dr. Stewart Herman — 1977 – 1978